Skip to content

Programs for Municipalities

ANCA works closely with municipal leaders to navigate local, state and federal clean energy initiatives. Energy Circuit Riders are currently implementing multiple NYSERDA and interagency programs in the 7-county North Country region.

ANCA also produces a monthly Clean Energy Update email newsletter that focuses specifically on news and opportunities for municipalities. Click here to sign up and select the box for Clean Energy.


NYSERDA’s Clean Energy Communities Program (CEC)

The CEC Program assists municipalities with undertaking High Impact Actions (HIAs) that reduce energy use and encourage renewable energy. Example of HIAs include converting street lights to LED, installing electric vehicle charging stations, and participating in energy code enforcement trainings. A CEC Coordinator can help municipal leaders navigate the program, manage projects, and earn incentives. Please contact a CEC Coordinator to learn more, or visit NYSERDA’s CEC website.

Clinton, Essex, Franklin, and Hamilton Counties: Nancy Bernstein,, Office: 518.891.6200 x118

Jefferson, Lewis, and St. Lawrence Counties: Shawnea Hull,, Office: 518.891.6200 x 122


NYS Climate Smart Communities(CSC)

Climate Smart Communities (CSC) is a New York State program that helps local governments take action to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to a changing climate. The program offers grants, rebates for electric vehicles, and free technical assistance. Please contact the North Country CSC Coordinator to find out more, or visit the NYS CSC website.

Clinton, Franklin, Essex, Hamilton, St. Lawrence, Jefferson, and Lewis counties:

Carlie Leary,, Office: 518.891.6200 x105